spacer spacer
 Leadership Advisory Committee

The Leadership Advisory Committee's (LAC) purpose was to gather a broad range of feedback from the local community about Carolina North. LAC developed principles that will guide the University in preparing plans for submission to the local governing bodies.

Ken Broun, Henry Brandis Professor of Law at Carolina and former Chapel Hill mayor, chaired the committee, which included representatives from the towns of Chapel Hill and Carrboro, the Chapel Hill-Carrboro Chamber of Commerce, Chapel-Hill Carrboro City Schools, Orange County, EmPOWERment, the State Department of Transportation, the governor's office, and the University. Chancellor James Moeser formally charged LAC on March 2, 2006.

Committee members

  • Etta Pisano, professor, Radiology and Biomedical Engineering, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Holden Thorp, Chair, Chemistry, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Douglas Crawford-Brown, head of the Carolina Environmental Program at UNC
  • Lisa Stuckey, Chairwoman, Chapel Hill-Carrboro School Board
  • Delores Bailey, Executive Director, EmPOWERment
  • Roger Perry, member, UNC Board of Trustees
  • Bob Winston, member, UNC Board of Trustees
  • Nancy Suttenfield, Vice Chancellor of Finance and Administration, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Tony Waldrop, Vice Chancellor of Research and Economic Development, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Mark Crowell, Associate Vice Chancellor of Economic Development and Technology Transfer, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Anita Badrock, Vice President, Chapel Hill-Carrboro Chamber of Commerce Board
  • David King, Deputy Secretary, N.C. Department of Transportation
  • David McCoy, Director, N.C. State Budget Office
  • Ken Broun, professor of law, UNC-Chapel Hill; former Chapel Hill mayor
  • Cam Hill, member, Chapel Hill Town Council
  • Bill Strom, member, Chapel Hill Town Council
  • George Cianciolo, member, Chapel Hill Planning Board
  • Julie McClintock, Chair, Chapel Hill Horace Williams Citizens Committee
  • Barry Jacobs, Chair, Orange County Board of Commissioners
  • Jay Bryan, Chair, Orange County Planning Board
  • Valerie Foushee, Commissioner, Orange County Board of Commissioners
  • Bernadette Pelissier, member, Orange County Planning Board and Commission for Environment
  • James Carnahan, Vice Chair, The Village Project, Inc.; Chairman, Planning Board, Carrboro
  • Dan Coleman, Alderman, Carrboro
  • Mark Chilton, Mayor, Carrboro
  • Randee Haven-O'Donnell, Alderman, Carrboro
  • Mac Clark, Chair, Orange County Water and Sewer Authority Board
  • Sharon Myers, geologist and environmental specialist, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Jessica Luginbuhl, student, UNC-Chapel Hill


  • Laurin Easthom, Town of Chapel Hill
  • Alice Gordon, Orange County
  • Allen Spalt, Town of Carrboro
  • Randy Kabrick, OWASA
  • Jack Evans, UNC faculty
  • Glen Glenstreet, Chapel-Hill Carrboro Chamber of Commerce
  • Tim Burnett, UNC Board of Trustees
  • David Gerber, UNC faculty


(919) 966-1571
Email Us
Additional Contacts

   To top
Honey Honey